All the single ladies – have we heard enough? A friend shares her thoughts on what it’s sometimes like hanging out with married folk. Tell us what you think.

Image

A single woman in a mom’s group…

      Many of the women I most enjoy in L.A. are in my book club, which came from a mom’s group. I am the only one who has no kids.  Often at book club meetings they wind up talking about their kids, schools, houses and other problems that involve people nicely adjusted to normal life and and property owning.  I, on the other hand, live in a one bedroom rented apartment—when something goes wrong I call the landlord.  (I don’t need no stinkin’ Home Depot!)  I don’t have any impressive job to counter with either.  What I do have is free time.  

I am interested in a lot of their conversations that are off book topic. They are smart, funny, and care about the world.   Still, sometimes I feel unimportant, uninteresting, like I don’t have that much to add.  Also sometimes I think they don’t realize how securely situated they are.  They have for the most part healthy children and own houses on the west side of Los Angeles for christsakes!  Of course I get to benefit from being invited to their houses and getting to hang around their kids without having to discipline and shape them.  And most things about my life I like.  Still, the grass is greener sometimes…  maybe because they have yards?

 

2 thoughts on “All the single ladies – have we heard enough? A friend shares her thoughts on what it’s sometimes like hanging out with married folk. Tell us what you think.

  1. Marcy Magiera

    Guilty as charged! 🙂 In these economically uncertain times, I appreciate a good reminder that even though we are less secure than we used to be, we are more secure than many. And that there is more to life than marriage and child-rearing! Can I sign up for a regular reality check? One that dares me to own how fortunate I am, realize that I have a safety net, and JUMP — to do something different, no matter what the husband, the kids, and the group may think?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

